Will this bring me Joy in 2 months?

Tomorrow will be 01.07.2016.

7 days into the new year- I’ve managed to feel pretty good about 1 action a day. I figure I’m ahead even if it was something simple. Like taking out the trash.

I’ve also gone food shopping and hit up the local store for a resupply of Lisa’s pants. The girl is all legs.

Both times we were in the store,  shopping together, and each item we looked at we asked ourselves-

“Will this still bring me Joy in 2 months?”

I have to admit, 95% of the things we looked at were a very confident “No.”

My 4 year old daughter is beginning to understand the concept and adapting far easier than I am. We are a team though, and as such, we teach each other.

So I began looking around the house, and instead of looking at items with a question of usage, need, or sentiment attachment, I am now seeking to keep only the items that bring me true joy.

What brings you joy, and will it last 2 months or longer?

2 thoughts on “Will this bring me Joy in 2 months?

  1. Maybe its my pessimistic attitude or just a dose of my own reality, I find I ask myself “what will make me feel guilty in two months”. Lately I’ve been on a mission to just get rid of things that are making me feel bad and otherwise poisoning my mindset. I’m purging all the extra things that I’ve collected under the “I might need this later” mantra, and I’ve been trying to finish up or get rid of projects that I’ve started.

    Like

    • The filters we use to see the world can definitely effect our ability to look positively at the situation. I recently discovered some books that are influencing me to ask about joy, rather than what will make me feel bad.
      “Clear Your Clutter with Feng Shui” by Karen Kingston, “The Life-changing Magic of Tidying Up” by Marie Kondo and my personal favorite , “Organize now!” by Jennifer Ford Berry.

      It feels good to purge! Like getting rid of dust when spring comes.

      What tips are helping to finish projects?

      Also, your comment brings me joy. I think you should know.

      Like

Leave a Reply

